The National Committee's Board of Directors is composed of leading scholars, corporate executives, and former policymakers, who generously give of their time and expertise.


Carla A. Hills
Chair & CEO, Hills & Company International Consultants;
U.S. Trade Representative, 1989-1993

Vice Chairs

Maurice R. Greenberg
Chairman & CEO, C.V. Starr & Co.


Henry A. Kissinger
Chairman, Kissinger Associates;
U.S. Secretary of State, 1973-1977

Vice Chairs 

Evan G. Greenberg
Chairman & CEO, Chubb


Thomas H. Kean
Chairman & CEO, THK Consulting; Governor of New Jersey, 1982-1990


Nicholas R. Lardy
Senior Fellow, Peterson Institute for International Economics

William R. Rhodes
President & CEO, William R. Rhodes Global Advisors

J. Stapleton Roy
Distinguished Scholar & Founding Director Emeritus, Kissinger Institute on China and the United States; U.S. Ambassador, People's Republic of China, 1991-1995

James R. Sasser
U.S. Ambassador, People's Republic of China, 1995-1999

Keith W. Abell
Co-founder, Sungate Asset Management


I. Peter Wolff
Former SVP, International & Executive
Advisor, Time Warner


Jonathan Auerbach 
EVP, Chief Strategy, Growth & Data, PayPal

Ajay Banga 
President & CEO, Mastercard

Dennis C. Blair 
Commander, U.S. Pacific Command, 1999-2002

Olivier Brandicourt 
CEO, Sanofi

Deborah Bräutigam 
Director, China Africa Research Initiative, Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies

Milton Brice

Dan Bryant 
SVP, Global Public Policy and Government Affairs, Walmart

Kurt M. Campbell 
Chairman & CEO, The Asia Group; Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian & Pacific Affairs, 2009-2014

Amy P. Celico 
Principal, Albright Stonebridge Group

Peter M. Cleveland 
Vice President, Law & Policy Group; Director, Global Public Policy, Intel Corporation

Daniel Cruise 
Chief Public Affairs Officer, JUUL Labs

Robert L. Daly 
Director, Kissinger Institute on China and the United States, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Nelson G. Dong 
Partner; Head, National Security Group; Co-Head, Asia Group, Dorsey & Whitney

Elizabeth C. Economy 
C.V. Starr Senior Fellow; Director, Asia Studies, Council on Foreign Relations

Richard Edelman 
President & CEO, Edelman

Martin S. Feldstein 
George F. Baker Professor of Economics, Harvard University

William E. Ford 
CEO, General Atlantic

Barbara H. Franklin 
President & CEO, Barbara Franklin Enterprises; U.S. Secretary of Commerce, 1992-1993

M. Taylor Fravel 
Arthur and Ruth Sloan Professor of Political Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Richard L. Gelfond 

Paul T. Haenle 
Maurice R. Greenberg Director's Chair, Carnegie-Tsinghua Center

Jimmy Hexter 
Partner, Paxion Capital

Merit E. Janow 
Dean, School of International & Public Affairs, Columbia University

Katherine P. Kaup 
James B. Duke Professor of Asian Studies and Politics and International Affairs, Furman University

Elizabeth D. Knup 
Representative, China, The Ford Foundation

David M. Lampton 
Professor Emeritus & Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy Institute, Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies

Kenneth G. Lieberthal 
Senior Fellow Emeritus in Foreign Policy, The Brookings Institution

Andrew N. Liveris 
Chairman Emeritus, The Dow Chemical Company

Gary Locke 
Chairman, Locke Global Strategies; U.S. Ambassador, People's Republic of China, 2011-2014

Samuel J. Locklear III 
Commander, U.S. Pacific Command, 2012-2015
Anja Manuel
Co-founder & Partner, RiceHadleyGates

Evan S. Medeiros 
Penner Family Chair in Asian Studies, School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University

Ken Miller 
President & CEO, Ken Miller Capital

Howard P. Milstein 
Chairman, New York Private Bank & Trust; Chairman, Milstein Properties

Douglas H. Paal 
Vice President for Studies; Director & Senior Associate, Asia Program, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

Sheldon Pang 
Vice Chairman, Freepoint Commodities

Yvonne Pei 
Senior Vice President, The Walt Disney Company, Greater China

A. Robert Pietrzak 
Partner, Sidley Austin

Joshua Cooper Ramo 
Vice Chairman & Co-CEO, Kissinger Associates

Clark T. Randt, Jr. 
U.S. Ambassador, People's Republic of China, 2001-2009

Daniel H. Rosen 
Partner, Rhodium Group

Anthony J. Saich 
Daewoo Professor of International Affairs; Director, Ash Center for Democratic Governance & Innovation

Rob Speyer 
President & CEO, Tishman Speyer
Susan A. Thornton
Senior Fellow, Paul Tsai China Center, Yale Law School; Acting Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian & Pacific Affairs (2017-2018)
Ernie L. Thrasher 
CEO, Xcoal Energy & Resources
Jan F. van Eck 
CEO, VanEck
Robert H. Xiao 
CEO, Perfect World
Jerry Yang 
Founding Partner, AME Cloud Ventures; Co-founder & former CEO, Yahoo!

Chair Emeritus

W. Michael Blumenthal
U.S. Secretary of the Treasury, 1977-1979

Connect with Us

Support Us

The National Committee on United States-China Relations, Inc., welcomes financial and in-kind contributions. The Committee is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization and, as such, donations to it are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.