The National Committee's board of directors is composed of leading scholars, corporate executives, and former policymakers, who generously give of their time and expertise.


Jacob J. Lew
Visiting Professor of International & Public Affairs, Columbia University
Partner, Lindsay Goldberg
U.S. Secretary of the Treasury, 2013-2017

Honorary Chair

Carla A. Hills
Chair & CEO, Hills & Company, International Consultants
U.S. Trade Representative, 1989-1993
U.S. Secretary of Housing & Urban Development, 1975-1977

Executive Vice Chairs         

Maurice R. Greenberg
Chairman & CEO, C.V. Starr & Co.


Henry A. Kissinger
Chairman, Kissinger Associates
U.S. Secretary of State, 1973-1977
U.S. National Security Advisor, 1969-1975

Vice Chairs         

Evan G. Greenberg
Chairman & CEO, Chubb


Thomas H. Kean
Chairman & CEO, THK Consulting; Governor of New Jersey, 1982-1990


Nicholas R. Lardy
Anthony M. Solomon Senior Fellow, Peterson Institute for International Economics

William R. Rhodes
President & CEO, William R. Rhodes Global Advisors

J. Stapleton Roy
Distinguished Fellow & Founding Director Emeritus, Kissinger Institute on China and the United States, Wilson Center; U.S. Ambassador, People's Republic of China, 1991-1995


Keith W. Abell

Founder, Sungate Properties


I. Peter Wolff
Former SVP, International & Executive
Advisor, Time Warner


Jonathan Auerbach 
EVP & Chief Strategy, Growth & Data Officer, PayPal

Dennis C. Blair
Director of National Intelligence, 2009-2010; Commander, U.S. Pacific Command, 1999-2002; Admiral, U.S. Navy (Retired)
Olivier Brandicourt
Former CEO, Sanofi and Bayer HealthCare
Dan Bryant
SVP, Global Public Policy & Government Affairs, Walmart
Amy P. Celico
Principal, Albright Stonebridge Group
Senior Director for China, Office of the U.S. Trade Representative, 2006-2007

John S. Chen
Executive Chairman & CEO, BlackBerry
Peter M. Cleveland
Vice President, Global Government Affairs, TSMC
Daniel Cruise
Partner, Tikehau Capital
Ray Dalio
Founder, Co-Chairman, & Co-Chief Investment Officer, Bridgewater Associates
Robert L. Daly
Director, Kissinger Institute on China and the United States, Wilson Center
Nelson G. Dong
Partner; Head, National Security Group; Co-head, Asia Group, Dorsey & Whitney
Richard Edelman
President & CEO, Edelman
Barbara H. Franklin
President & CEO, Barbara Franklin Enterprises; U.S. Secretary of Commerce, 1992-1993
Mary E. Gallagher
Lowenstein Professor of Democracy, Democratization, and Human Rights, Department of Political Science & Director of the International Institute, University of Michigan
Paul T. Haenle
Maurice R. Greenberg Director's Chair, Carnegie-Tsinghua Center for Global Policy; Director for China, Taiwan, and Mongolia Affairs, National Security Council, 2007-2009
Benjamin D. Harburg
Managing Partner, MSA Capital
Ming Hsieh
Chairman & CEO, Fulgent Genetics
Jon M. Huntsman, Jr.
U.S. Ambassador, Russia, 2017–2019, People’s Republic of China, 2009–2011, Singapore, 1992-1993; Governor of Utah, 2005–2009
Merit E. Janow
Dean, School of International and Public Affairs & Professor of Practice, International Economic Law and International Affairs, Columbia University; Former Chair & Director, Nasdaq
Katherine P. Kaup
James B. Duke Professor of Asian Studies and Politics and International Affairs, Furman University
Elizabeth D. Knup
Director, China, The Ford Foundation
David M. Lampton
Professor Emeritus & Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy Institute, Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies

Cheng Li
Director, John L. Thornton China Center; Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy, The Brookings Institution
Kenneth G. Lieberthal
Senior Fellow Emeritus, Foreign Policy, The Brookings Institution; Special Assistant to the President & Senior Director for Asia, National Security Council, 1998-2000
Gary F. Locke
Interim President, Bellevue College; Governor of Washington (1997-2005); U.S. Secretary of Commerce (2009-2011); Ambassador to China (2011-2014)
Samuel J. Locklear III
Commander, U.S. Pacific Command, 2012-2015; Admiral, U.S. Navy (retired)
Anja Manuel
Co-founder & Partner, Rice, Hadley, Gates & Manuel LLC
Nancy Yao Maasbach
President, Museum of Chinese in America
Evan S. Medeiros
Penner Family Chair in Asian Studies, School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University; Special Assistant to the President & Senior Director for Asia, National Security Council, 2013-2015
Sheldon Pang
Vice Chairman, Freepoint Commodities
Yvonne Pei
Senior Vice President, The Walt Disney Company, Greater China
Joshua Cooper Ramo
Chairman & CEO, Sornay, LLC
Clark T. Randt, Jr.
U.S. Ambassador, People's Republic of China, 2001-2009
Jason W. Rekate
Global Head of Corporate Banking, Citigroup
Daniel H. Rosen
Partner, Rhodium Group
Rob Speyer
President & CEO, Tishman Speyer
Susan A. Thornton
Senior Fellow, Paul Tsai China Center, Yale Law School; Acting Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs, 2017-2018
Ernie L. Thrasher
CEO & Chief Marketing Officer, Xcoal Energy & Resources
Jan F. van Eck 
CEO, VanEck
Richard Verma 
General Counsel & Head of Global Public Policy, Mastercard
Leana S. Wen 
Emergency Physician & Visiting Professor of Health Policy and Management, George Washington University’s School of Public Health; Nonresident Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution
Mark Wiedman 
Senior Managing Director, Head of International and of Corporate Strategy, BlackRock
Jerry Yang 
Founding Partner, AME Cloud Ventures; Co-founder & former CEO, Yahoo!
Peng Zhao 
CEO, Citadel Securities

Chair Emeritus

W. Michael Blumenthal  
U.S. Secretary of the Treasury, 1977-1979