The National Committee on U.S.-China Relations held its annual black-tie Gala Dinner on Monday, November 10, 2014 at the Plaza Hotel in New York City.

The evening recognized Patricia A. Woertz, Chairman & CEO of Archer Daniels Midland Company, and John P. Bilbrey, President & CEO of The Hershey Company. Both companies are dedicated supporters of the National Committee and constructive U.S.-China relations. Their long-term investments and philanthropy in China have helped strengthen bilateral relations.

Since its entrance into the Chinese market in 1994, Archer Daniels Midland Company has grown to become a major supplier of China's rising demand for corn, oilseeds and food and feed ingredients. ADM's collaborative efforts to advance China's food-security goals (working with China Agricultural University to develop lower-cost feed programs for dairy cattle) and preserve more of the country's grain (through the ADM Institute for the Prevention of Postharvest Loss' alliance with China's Research Center for Rural Economy) have strengthened the bilateral relationship and earned our accolades.

For twenty years, Chinese consumers have enjoyed The Hershey Company's iconic products. Last year, the company chose to launch its new Lancaster candy brand in China prior to introducing the brand in the U.S., marking the first time launching a completely new brand outside the U.S. in its 120-year history. Hershey is being honored for its commitment to China beyond its market interest, from its sustainable and ethical ingredient-sourcing, to establishing the Good to Give Back community program that provides occupational training to underserved children in Shanghai's migrant worker population and elsewhere in China.

Gala guests enjoyed a musical performance by 6ixwire Project, a crossover duo comprised of soloists Xiang Gao and Cathy Yang. The name refers to the two strings on Ms. Yang's erhu (Chinese violin) plus the four strings on Mr. Gao's western violin. More about 6ixwire Project can be found at

The Gala provides a significant source of support for the National Committee, a non-partisan organization that seeks to promote better understanding between China and the United States by creating opportunities for informed discussions regarding issues of vital importance. The room was filled with business leaders, public officials and senior Chinese diplomats gathered to honor ADM and Hershey and look back on the year's significant milestones in Sino-American relations.



($75K and above)
Click icon to connect


Ace Insured
Archer Daniels Midland Company
The Hershey Company
The Starr Foundation
Tishman Speyer
XCoal Energy and Resources


($50K and above)
Click icon to connect





($15K and above)

Blackberry LTD
China Center New York LLC
Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Hills & Company
Hong Kong Economic & Trade Office
IMAX Corporation
Levcor International, Inc.
McCormick & Company, Inc.
Rockwell Automation
Sidley Austin LLP
Sungate Asset Management LLC
The Walt Disney Company


Barbara Franklin Enterprises
CVS Health
Intercontinental Exchange
J.P. Morgan
Johnson & Johnson
Jones Day
The Coca-Cola Company

2014 Gala Dinner Committee

Honorary Chairs

The Honorable James Earl Carter, Jr.
The Honorable George H.W. Bush

Honorary Vice-Chairs

The Honorable Madeleine K. Albright
The Honorable Michael H. Armacost
The Honorable James A. Baker III
The Honorable David L. Boren
The Honorable Zbigniew Brzezinski
The Honorable W. Michael Blumenthal
Mrs. Barbara Bush
The Honorable Elaine L. Chao
Mr. Thomas E. Donilon
The Honorable Dianne Feinstein
The Honorable Barbara Hackman Franklin
The Honorable Robert M. Gates
The Honorable Stephen J. Hadley
The Honorable Lee H. Hamilton
The Honorable Thomas H. Kean
The Honorable Henry A. Kissinger
The Honorable Gary F. Locke
The Honorable Winston Lord
The Honorable John D. Negroponte
The Honorable Leon Panetta
The Honorable Henry M. Paulson, Jr.
The Honorable William J. Perry
General Colin L. Powell
The Honorable Joseph W. Prueher
The Honorable Clark T. Randt, Jr.
The Honorable J. Stapleton Roy
The Honorable Robert E. Rubin
The Honorable James R. Sasser
The Honorable Brent Scowcroft
The Honorable George P. Shultz
The Honorable Richard H. Solomon
Professor Ezra Vogel
The Honorable Paul A. Volcker
The Honorable Robert B. Zoellick

Monday, November 10, 2014
6:30 PM EST

The Plaza Hotel
New York, NY



Connect with Us

Support Us

The National Committee on United States-China Relations, Inc., welcomes financial and in-kind contributions. The Committee is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization and, as such, donations to it are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.