The National Committee on U.S.-China Relations is pleased to invite you to join us on Tuesday, November 9, 2021, for our annual black-tie Gala Dinner. The Gala will take place at The Plaza New York, with a reception beginning at 6:30 p.m. followed by dinner at 7:30 p.m.

We will be following all necessary COVID-19 guidelines required by the city and state of New York to ensure a safe and enjoyable evening for everyone. All guests will be required to show proof of vaccination and one form of photo identification in order to enter The Plaza Hotel. Acceptable forms of proof include the vaccination card itself or one of the Apps: NYC Covid Safe, Excelsior Pass and Clear, plus your photo ID. No guest will be permitted without proof of vaccination.

This year’s esteemed honoree is Ming Hsieh, chairman, president, and chief executive officer of Fulgent Genetics, Inc., and a board member of the National Committee. Mr. Hsieh was selected to serve on the board because of his years of entrepreneurial expertise and experience in both the United States and China, as well as for his lifelong dedication to bridging and improving health technologies across the East and West. Mr. Hsieh exemplifies the enormous contributions of Chinese Americans to our society and to the strengthening of U.S.-China ties.

Fulgent is a rapidly growing biotechnology company offering comprehensive genetic testing and oncology services, with the goal of improving patient care.

Prior to founding Fulgent, Mr. Hsieh was the founder, chief executive officer, and chairman of Cogent, Inc., a global leading biometric identification company established in 1990. Cogent was acquired by 3M in 2010. Mr. Hsieh received a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering degree from the University of Southern California in 1983 and a Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree from U.S.C. in 1984, as well as honorary doctoral degrees from U.S.C. in 2010 and the University of West Virginia in 2011. He has served as a trustee at U.S.C. since 2007 and at Fudan University (in Shanghai) since 2011. In 2015, Mr. Hsieh was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for development and commercialization of biometric identification systems. In 2017, he was named a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors for his innovations in cellular technology and fingerprint identification.

Former Transportation Secretary and Labor Secretary Elaine Chao will present the award. Secretary Chao was the first Asian American woman in U.S. history to be appointed to a President’s Cabinet.

The Joyous String Ensemble will perform for Gala guests. This wonderful group of young musicians have been playing together since they were just four years old, appearing in concert halls, at music festivals, on major television shows in the States and abroad; and were featured at a White House Christmas tree lighting during the Obama administration.

For sponsorship opportunities and exclusive benefits, please contact our Development Office at or 212-645-2576.

To purchase individual tickets, please click here.


Founder Level

Click icon to connect

Cornerstone Supporters

Click icon to connect

Fulgent Genetics, Inc.
Fulgent Genetics, Inc.

Chair Level

Click icon to connect


Dalio Philanthropies
BlackRock, Inc.
Perfect World Entertainment, Inc.
PX Global Advisors
Tishman Speyer
Wanxiang America Corporation

Leader Level

Citigroup Inc.
Freepoint Commodities LLC
General Atlantic Foundation
PayPal Holdings, Inc.
The Walt Disney Company

Benefactor Level 

Asia Alternatives Management LLC
Barbara Franklin Enterprises
Fuyao Glass America
Intel Corporation
Kamsky Associates Inc.
Ken Miller Capital LLC
Marsh McLennan

Patron Level

Amgen, Inc.
Benjamin D. Harburg
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Ernst & Young LLP
Hills & Company, International Consultants
Hudson Resources Investment, Inc.
Standard Chartered Americas
Wall Street Investment Group, Inc.
Warburg Pincus LLC


Tuesday, November 9, 2021
6:30 PM EST

The Plaza New York
New York, NY

2021 Gala Dinner Committee

  • Honorary Chairs

    President Jimmy Carter
    President Bill Clinton

    Honorary Vice Chairs

    Secretary Madeleine Albright
    Ambassador Michael Armacost
    Secretary James Baker, III
    Ambassador Max Baucus
    Admiral Dennis Blair
    Ambassador Julia Chang Bloch
    Secretary Michael Blumenthal
    Ambassador Terry Branstad
    Secretary Ashton B. Carter
    Secretary Elaine L. Chao
    Admiral Philip Davidson
    Mr. Thomas Donilon
    Admiral William Fallon
    Admiral Thomas Fargo
    Secretary Barbara Hackman Franklin
    Ambassador Michael Froman
    Secretary Chuck Hagel
    Ambassador Carla A. Hills
    Ambassador Jon Huntsman
    Governor Thomas Kean
    Senator Mark Kirk
    Secretary Henry Kissinger
    Congressman Darin LaHood
    Ambassador Gary Locke
    Admiral Samuel Locklear, III
    Ambassador Winston Lord
    Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney
    Ambassador John Negroponte
    Secretary Henry Paulson
    Secretary William Perry
    Admiral Joseph Prueher
    Ambassador Clark Randt, Jr.
    Ambassador J. Stapleton Roy
    Secretary Robert Rubin
    Mr. Daniel Russel
    Congressman Gregorio Sablan
    Ambassador James Sasser
    Ms. Susan Thornton
    Ambassador Robert Zoellick

Connect with Us

Support Us

The National Committee on United States-China Relations, Inc., welcomes financial and in-kind contributions. The Committee is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization and, as such, donations to it are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.