Wednesday, October 26, 2022 | 6:30 PM EDT

The Plaza New York

On October 26, 2022, the National Committee on U.S.-China Relations held its black-tie Gala Dinner at The Plaza New York. Members and friends gathered to celebrate the over $3 million raised to support the Committee’s mission and work.

The Gala’s honoree was Evan G. Greenberg, chairman and chief executive officer of Chubb, has made enormous contributions to constructive Sino-American relations. A longtime NCUSCR board member, Mr. Greenberg is currently a vice chair of the National Committee and believes in and strongly supports its mission.

The program featured remarks from NCUSCR Chair and former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury Jacob J. Lew, NCUSCR President Stephen A. Orlins, NCUSCR Executive Vice Chair Dr. Henry A. Kissinger, as well as a conversation with United States Trade Representative Katherine Tai.

Chubb is the world’s largest publicly traded property and casualty (P&C) insurance company. With operations in 54 countries and territories, Chubb provides commercial and personal P&C insurance, personal accident and supplemental health insurance, reinsurance and life insurance to a diverse group of clients. Chubb maintains executive offices in Zurich, New York, London, Paris and other locations, and employs approximately 31,000 people worldwide. Chubb’s history in China dates back to 1792 and continues to this day, as the company has significant and increasing ownership in Huatai Insurance Group. Through its charitable foundation, the company supports schools, scholarships, and other programs in China.

Over the course of 45 years in the insurance industry, Mr. Greenberg has held various underwriting and leadership positions and gained significant insight in the global property, casualty and life insurance sectors. Prior to joining the company, then named ACE Limited, in 2001 as vice chairman, Mr. Greenberg spent 25 years at American International Group, where he served as president and chief operating officer from 1997 to 2000. He serves by presidential appointment on the United States Trade Representative’s Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations, and on numerous nonprofit and think tank boards.

2022 Gala Sponsors

Founder Level Sponsor

Cornerstone Level Sponsor

Chair Level Sponsors

Leader Level Sponsors

Benefactor Level Sponsors

The Honorable Barbara Hackman Franklin
Laurion Capital Management LP
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited
Vista Equity Partners

Patron Level Sponsors

Dorsey & Whitney LLP
Hills & Company, International Consultants
LA Fashion Week, A N4XT Experience
Warburg Pincus LLC

Honorary Chair

President James E. Carter
President William J. Clinton

Honorary Vice Chairs

Secretary James A. Baker III
Ambassador Charlene Barshefsky
Ambassador Maxwell S. Baucus
Admiral Dennis C. Blair
Secretary W. Michael Blumenthal
Representative Charles W. Boustany Jr.
Mr. Neil M. Bush
Secretary Ashton B. Carter
Secretary Elaine L. Chao
Mr. Thomas E. Donilon
Admiral Thomas B. Fargo
Secretary Barbara H. Franklin
Ambassador Michael Froman
Secretary Carlos M. Gutierrez
Secretary Charles T. Hagel
Ambassador Carla A. Hills
Governor Thomas H. Kean
Dr. Jim Yong Kim
Senator Mark S. Kirk
Dr. Henry A. Kissinger
Representative Darin M. LaHood
Governor Gary F. Locke
Admiral Samuel J. Locklear
Ambassador Winston Lord
Ambassador John D. Negroponte
Secretary Leon E. Panetta
Secretary Henry M. Paulson
Secretary William J. Perry
Admiral Joseph W. Prueher
Ambassador Clark T. Randt Jr.
Ambassador J. Stapleton Roy
Secretary Robert E. Rubin
Mr. Daniel R. Russel
Representative Gregorio K. Sablan
Ambassador James R. Sasser
Ms. Susan A. Thornton
Ambassador Robert B. Zoellick