The National Committee regularly sends members of Congress to China, having arranged and escorted eight delegations since 2006. The week-long study tours are designed to educate the congressmen and women about China through personal introductions to senior Chinese leaders and a range of informative site visits and meetings.

These visits complement the National Committee's other efforts to educate Congress on issues relating to China, including its Congressional Staff Delegations to China and Capitol Hill Briefings for New Members of Congress. The organization has a long tradition of congressional education, beginning in 1976, when it organized the first delegation of congressional staffers to the People's Republic of China.

After a hiatus of two decades, the National Committee's involvement in congressional delegations to China was renewed shortly after China National Offshore Oil Corporation's (CNOOC) attempted acquisition of UNOCAL in 2005 failed due to congressional objections. This was a vivid reminder of the importance of the American Congress in U.S.-China relations and the valuable role that the National Committee could play in congressional leadership education.

The National Committee took a major step in this direction in January 2006 when, for the first time in many years, it escorted the two co-chairs of the newly formed bipartisan congressional U.S.-China Working Group (USCWG), Rick Larsen (D-Washington) and Mark Kirk (R-Illinois), and a member of the Working Group, Tom Feeney (R-Florida) to China. National Committee President Stephen Orlins accompanied the delegation, which also included the two co-staff directors of the USCWG. With a focus on border and security issues, the delegation was the first foreign group since 1989 to visit the manned-space launch center in Jiuquan, where the vice space administrator agreed to work with NASA in developing a joint space rescue capability.

  • 2019 Congressional Members Delegation

    March 16, 2019 to March 24, 2019
    Hong Kong, Hangzhou, and Beijing, China

    In March 2019, the National Committee escorted its eighth congressional delegation to China, traveling to Hong Kong, Hangzhou, and Beijing. The group was led by the two current co-chairs of the USCWG, Congressmen Rick Larsen (D-WA-2) and Darin LaHood (R-IL-18), joined by Congresswoman Julia Brownley (D-CA-26) and Congressmen Bill Flores (R-TX-17), Greg Gianforte (R-MT), and Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA-14). National Committee President Stephen Orlins and Matt Ferchen (a fellow in NCUSCR's Public Intellectuals Program) escorted the delegation. Meetings focused on issues of trade, agriculture, tech and intellectual property, healthcare (including fentanyl and the opioid crisis), and the denuclearization of North Korea. The meetings in Hong Kong included many political and judicial leaders, such as Chief Executive Carrie Lam and Secretary of Justice Teresa Cheng. In Hangzhou, the delegation met with Municipal Party Secretary Zhou Jiangyong and Provincial Party Secretary Che Jun. The group met with Vice President Wang Qishan in Beijing, along with U.S. Ambassador to China Terry Branstad, the National People's Congress Foreign Affairs Committee, as well as Standing Committee Chairman Li Zhanshu and Vice Chairman Wang Chen. The delegation also met with American and Chinese corporations, including Ford Motor Company and Alibaba, as well as local NGOs such as the Institute of Public and Environmental Affairs.


  • Click photo thumbnail to expand:

Connect with Us

Support Us

The National Committee on United States-China Relations, Inc., welcomes financial and in-kind contributions. The Committee is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization and, as such, donations to it are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.