March 16, 2019 to March 24, 2019
Hong Kong, Hangzhou, and Beijing, China

In March 2019, the National Committee escorted its eighth congressional delegation to China, traveling to Hong Kong, Hangzhou, and Beijing. The group was led by the two current co-chairs of the USCWG, Congressmen Rick Larsen (D-WA-2) and Darin LaHood (R-IL-18), joined by Congresswoman Julia Brownley (D-CA-26) and Congressmen Bill Flores (R-TX-17), Greg Gianforte (R-MT), and Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA-14). National Committee President Stephen Orlins and Matt Ferchen (a fellow in NCUSCR's Public Intellectuals Program) escorted the delegation. Meetings focused on issues of trade, agriculture, tech and intellectual property, healthcare (including fentanyl and the opioid crisis), and the denuclearization of North Korea. The meetings in Hong Kong included many political and judicial leaders, such as Chief Executive Carrie Lam and Secretary of Justice Teresa Cheng. In Hangzhou, the delegation met with Municipal Party Secretary Zhou Jiangyong and Provincial Party Secretary Che Jun. The group met with Vice President Wang Qishan in Beijing, along with U.S. Ambassador to China Terry Branstad, the National People's Congress Foreign Affairs Committee, as well as Standing Committee Chairman Li Zhanshu and Vice Chairman Wang Chen. The delegation also met with American and Chinese corporations, including Ford Motor Company and Alibaba, as well as local NGOs such as the Institute of Public and Environmental Affairs.

Congressional Members Delegations to China

Congressional Members Delegations to China

The National Committee regularly sends members of Congress to China, having arranged and escorted eight delegations since 2006. The week-long study tours are designed to educate the congressmen and women about China through personal introductions to senior Chinese leaders and a range of informative site visits and meetings.


  • Click photo thumbnail to expand:

Connect with Us

Support Us

The National Committee on United States-China Relations, Inc., welcomes financial and in-kind contributions. The Committee is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization and, as such, donations to it are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.