The 2024 CHINA Town Hall program took place on Tuesday, April 9, from 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. ET, with featured speaker Dr. Kurt Campbell, Deputy Secretary of State. Missed the event? Watch a recording of the livestream here.

CHINA Town Hall (CTH), a two-part program that provides a snapshot of the current U.S.-China relationship and examines how that relationship reverberates at the local level – in our towns, states, and nation, connects Americans around the country with U.S. policymakers and thought leaders on China.  

Since CTH began in 2007, the National Committee has proudly partnered with a range of institutions and civic groups, colleges and universities, trade and business associations, world affairs councils, and think tanks to convene town halls and bring this important national conversation to local communities around America (and a few overseas). 


Check the map below –updated on a rolling basis — to find a 2024 CTH partner near you. 

Are you an…


The National Committee has partnered with over 150 organizations in the past 17 years of CHINA Town Hall history, and we always welcome new ones. If you wish to host a local town hall as part of CTH, please register by April 2, 2024.


If there is no local town hall in your community, or your circumstances don’t allow you to attend a local town hall for extended discussions, you can also register and watch CHINA Town Hall from home. Sign up now to take part in an engaging national conversation.

Use our U.S.-China relations glossary for unfamiliar terms.

Follow our Instagram for short clips and infographics.
Keep up with current news on X.

Listen to The US-China Podcast on Spotify and Apple Podcasts.

Find summer internships on LinkedIn.
The U.S.-China Essentials multimedia series joins leading experts to explore key aspects of the U.S.-China relationship, highlights key issues to watch, and illustrates the ways it affects the lives of every American.


Dr. Kurt M. Campbell was confirmed by the Senate on February 6, 2024, and sworn in as the 22nd Deputy Secretary of State on February 12, 2024. Prior to assuming this position, Deputy Secretary Campbell served as Deputy Assistant to the President and Coordinator for Indo-Pacific Affairs on the National Security Council.
He was previously founding chairman and CEO of The Asia Group, LLC, a strategic advisory and capital management group. From 2009 to 2013, Campbell served as the Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs. Earlier, he was the CEO and co-founder of the Center for a New American Security and concurrently served as the director of the Aspen Strategy Group and chairman of the Editorial Board of the Washington Quarterly. Among the other positions he has held during his distinguished career, Campbell served as Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Asian and Pacific Affairs, White House Fellow at the Treasury Department, and as Director of the Democracy Office at the National Security Council during the Clinton Administration.  
Campbell was an associate professor of public policy at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government and served in the U.S. Navy Reserves. He is the author or editor of ten books including The Pivot: The Future of American Statecraft in Asia, Difficult Transitions: Why Presidents Fail in Foreign Policy at the Outset of Power, and Hard Power: The New Politics of National Security.  
Campbell received his B.A. from the University of California, San Diego, and his doctorate in international relations from Brasenose College at Oxford University where he was a Distinguished Marshall Scholar. He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Secretary of State’s Distinguished Service Award. 
2023 CHINA Town Hall: Nicholas Burns

2022 CHINA Town Hall: Jon M. Hunstman Jr.

2021 CHINA Town Hall: Fareed Zakaria

2020 CHINA Town Hall: Ray Dalio

2019 CHINA Town Hall: Melanie Hart, Yasheng Huang, and Ely Ratner

2018 CHINA Town Hall: Condoleezza Rice

2017 CHINA Town Hall: Susan Rice

2016 CHINA Town Hall: Henry Kissinger

2015 CHINA Town Hall: Robert Rubin, Sheldon Day, and Daniel Rosen

2014 CHINA Town Hall: Jimmy Carter

2013 CHINA Town Hall: Madeleine Albright

2012 CHINA Town Hall: Gary Locke

2011 CHINA Town Hall: Zbigniew Brzezinski

2010 CHINA Town Hall: Jon Huntsman

2009 CHINA Town Hall: Kurt Campbell

2008 CHINA Town Hall: Norman Ornstein

2007 CHINA Town Hall: Thomas Christensen